Protect Yourself with Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Uninsured and underinsured motorist (UM) coverage can financially protect you from financially irresponsible drivers.

In the event you are in an accident caused by a driver who is uninsured, has too little coverage, or flees the scene, UM coverage can help pay for your expenses. Without UM coverage in such a scenario, you'd have to pay for your injury and property damage costs, even though the accident was not your fault.

Save More on Auto Insurance Now

Please provide a valid Zip Code

UM coverage includes two components:

  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI): Pays for your medical expenses in the event another driver with no insurance or insufficient coverage is at-fault in an accident that injuries you. UMBI will also cover your passengers if they are injured. UMBI can protect you from paying medical bills out of your own pocket.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage (UMPD): Pays to replace or fix the damage of your vehicle or property if you are in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. This coverage helps pay for your repair and replacement costs, so you do not pay out of your own pocket.

UM coverage lowers your financial risk by protecting you from financially irresponsible drivers. It can help pay for the injury and property damage costs caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. Without UM, depending on where you live, you could end up paying for these costs out of your own pocket.

Do I need Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist (UM) Coverage?

Consider that in many states, over 20% of drivers are uninsured. In other words, if you are hit by another driver, there is a fair chance you could end up paying for your medical bills and repair costs from an accident that isn’t even your fault.

Depending on where you live, you may need to purchase UM coverage by law to meet your state’s minimum insurance requirements. Below are the 20 states that require uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, along with their minimum coverage amounts:

State Minimum Coverage Amounts
Connecticut Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
District of Columbia Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Property damage coverage of at least $5,000 per accident, subject to a $200 deductible
Illinois Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Kansas Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Maine Bodily injury coverage of at least $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident
Maryland Bodily injury coverage of at least $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident
Property damage coverage of at least $15,000 per accident
Massachusetts Bodily injury coverage of at least $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident
Minnesota Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Missouri Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Nebraska Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
New Hampshire* Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Property damage coverage of at least $25,000 per accident
New York Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
North Carolina Bodily injury coverage of at least $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident
Property damage coverage of at least $25,000 per accident
North Dakota Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Oregon Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
South Carolina Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Property damage coverage of at least $25,000 per accident, subject to a $200 deductible
South Dakota Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Vermont Bodily injury coverage of at least $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident
Property damage coverage of at least $10,000 per accident, subject to a $150 deductible
Virginia* Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Property damage coverage of at least $20,000 per accident, subject to a $200 deductible
West Virginia Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Property damage coverage of at least $25,000 per accident
Wisconsin Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident

If you do not live in the above states, UM coverage is optional. Even so, it can make financial sense to purchase UM coverage, as it typically will not add much to your monthly premium.

Compare auto insurance options with uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage by enter your zip code now. You could save $744* per year!

Covering America with savings one customer at a time

Please provide a valid Zip Code
Safe & secure.